Project Zero G Forums Forum Index
<  Project Cars  ~  1987 BMW 325e
CarRacer
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:00 pm  Reply with quote
Addict

Picked up an E30 roller chassis on my birthday as my next project now that I'm done racing for a while. Chassis is an 1987 325e with 114,000 on the clock. It seems pretty clean all around, doors, fenders, and trunk area is rust free. PO parked it and stole the drive train for another car after hitting a raccoon or something. That's why the front end is missing and the rear aftermarket bumper is cracked.

Plan is to put my Chump Chevette drivetrain in it, a 4G63 converted to rear wheel drive using a world class T5 from a Mustang, and drive it on the street as a fun weekend car. I hope to test fit the motor soon and see how many problems I'll have to solve on this swap. It'll be a different build mindset for me as well as I've never done a weekend car before. Previously it's either been DD builds or full track car builds.

frankencav
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:19 am  Reply with quote
Knowlege Seeker

I'd like to see this become a build that looks as factory as possible under the hood. Maybe paint the VC to match the body color, etc.

Looking forward to seeing progress!
CarRacer
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2014 4:14 pm  Reply with quote
Addict

Finished up the motor mounts last night. Happy with how the motor is sitting but I may have to shim up the driver side as the pan is a little closer to the rack than I prefer. It'll knock the motor off level but that's not super critical. Next hurdle is the trans mount and I'm not quite sure how I'll make that yet. The BMW mount is quite a ways rearward of the T5 rubber mount. I may use the mount on the tail shaft but am not sure how I will retain a rubber mount yet.

CarRacer
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 11:18 pm  Reply with quote
Addict